Opening Staff Meeting Activities


There is a good post on LeaderTalk that shares many terrific videos that school administrators can share with staff at their first faculty meeting before school starts.  I plan on using a few of these during my opening meeting on Monday, August 24.

Additionally, I have been looking for a fun activity to start the welcome back staff meeting.  I am looking for something that will engage teachers with each other, make people smile, and get the year started with a positive feeling.

I have posed this question to my Twitter followers and on the Ning network to which I belong, but I have not yet received any replies.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me and others who may read this?  Please share via comments.

4 thoughts on “Opening Staff Meeting Activities

  1. Dave,

    The most powerful beginning-of-school faculty for me was my very last one. Everyone took out a sheet of paper and wrote a letter—to themselves. The letter was written as if the year had already ended and it was recapping the accomplishments of the year.

    I passed out envelopes and asked each person to seal the envelope and put it in a place where they could find it when the year ended. the challenge was to be able to read that letter 9 months later and have it be congruent with what had actually transpired over the course of the year.

    It was a powerful exercise and one I would recommend to anyone.

  2. This summer I had my staff read High Five. There is a great video called the power of teamwork. You can find it on the simple truths website. At our opening meeting I talked about highly effective teams and what makes them so. I would go over some qualities and then show a video clip. For example, one of the “4 rules” in the book is having a clear purpose. I showed a clip of a NASCAR pitstop and talked about how each pit crew member knew exactly what to do. Since our theme was High Five we all gave high fives when the meeting started.

  3. Pingback: What Do You Believe? « The Principal and Interest

Leave a Reply

