Our Odyssey in Our Odyssey – Part 5


We arrived in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware yesterday around 5:00 pm.  After some minor hotel issues (resolved to our satisfaction), we walked up and down the boardwalk.  This was my first time on a real eastern seaboard boardwalk.  It’s a fun place to hang out for a few days, and it is heaven on earth for kids.  The boardwalk is one mile long, and it is lined with the following:  Pizza restaurants, ice cream joints, popcorn stands, boardwalk French Fry stands, video game arcades, carnival rides, candy shops, salt water taffy stores, gelatto stands, beach stores, T-shirt shops, sundries, sub sandwich places, and hot dog, burger, & gyros stands.

IMG_0195

Ooohh. Gyros!

We are staying here at the Atlantic Sands Hotel facing the ocean.

We are staying here at the Atlantic Sands Hotel facing the ocean.

IMG_0198

After Gillian and I rode the bumper cars and went through the haunted house, we looked out over the ocean and saw an orange orb coming up from the horizon.  It was what I would call a “moonrise.”  I have never seen the moon actually appear to rise up out of a body of water like this, and it really was  a beautiful sight.

The moon over Delaware.

The moon over Delaware.

What a difference a day makes.  Yesterday we left a chaotic, energetic, bustling Manhattan, and today we laid around at the pool and the beach.  Life has slowed to a crawl.  Personally, I loved NYC and especially Manhattan, and I could have stayed for a few more days.  There is so much I did not get to see and do there.

Although I like the beach town atmosphere, I will be ready to leave Sunday morning.  I feel like we were learning, seeing, and doing  so much in New York, and now our brains have turned to mush, and I am eating so much junk.

Tomorrow will be more of the same – eating, lying around, eating, walking a little, lying around some more, and then eating some more.  I think I am going to explode.

Leave a Reply

