Our Odyssey in Our Odyssey – Part 1


The Sherman family has never taken a long driving trip across the country.  There are numerous reasons for this, the most obvious is that our children have the attention span of goldfish, and driving in the car for more than two hours has been worse than a CIA waterboarding experience.  Another reason is that they get along about as well as two lions fighting over the last piece of antelope flesh.

Our typical summer vacation is to take a 120 mile drive to a small town in Michigan, where we we spend seven leisurely days sitting around, swimming, eating, reading, sitting around some more, and and then eating a lot of ice cream.  We have done this for the last eight years.  So this year, yours truly pushed hard to expand our horizons past the southwest corner of Michigan and venture out in our minivan to the east coast.  I have wanted to visit NYC since 9/11, and I believe the girls are finally old enough to appreciate the sights and sounds of the city.

I plan on posting on this blog a few times about our adventure.  Why?  and Who Really Cares?  Well, I am not sure, but I feel the need to use my blog for something other than my opinions about education during the month of July.  So, here I go.

The Odessey is all gassed up, loaded, and ready to go at 5:00 am.

The Odyssey is all gassed up, loaded, and ready to go at 5:00 am.

My wife Sally, my two girls Marni,15, and Gillian,12, and I left the house at 5:00 this morning.  Amazing.  Because we are very good sleepers, and it is very hard for all of us to get up in the morning.  The plan was to hit the road as early as possible.  After a quick stop at Dunkin’ Donuts, and then back home because Sally forgot her driver’s license, we hit the road.  The first movie went in the DVD payer at 7:30, and the second one at 9:30.  Fabulously quiet in the car.

A happy 12 year old ready to hit the road.

A happy 12 year old ready to hit the road.

"What am I doing here?  I am definitely too old for family vacations."

"What am I doing here? I am definitely too old for family vacations."

After a quick lunch, we listened to books on CD.  We started with the first disc of The Face on the Milk Carton by Carolyn B. Cooney.  It is a very engaging book for all of us.  Then, in one of the many compromises I will be making during this vacation, I agreed to listen to the first CD of Twilight by Stephanie Meyer.  I don’t quiet understand the fascination the rest of my family has with teenage vampires.  They’ve read the Twilight books like four times.

Yep, they truly are enjoying the the beautiful American countryside!

Yep, they truly are enjoying the the beautiful American countryside!

Well, we drove 550 miles today.  We made it from Chicago to DuBois, Pennsylvania, and there were no major incidents inside or outside of the car.  The first sister fight did not happen until dinner, which was more than I could have hoped for.  They even swam together before dinner.

Tomorrow we will leave bright and early (but not at 5:00 am) for NYC.  We are staying smack dab in the middle of in Times Square.  It should be fun!

Leave a Reply

