I’m Sick of the Germs


Enough is enough. I have been sick more this school year than any other year in recent memory, and I am sick and tired of being sick and tired.  I am sick of the stuffed up nose, the sore throat, the post-nasal drip, the scratchy cough, and the low fever with the pounding headache.   It’s just enough to keep me home, annoyed that I am not at school, and feeling lousy enough to not enjoy the day off.  This, along with the ridiculous state testing that we just completed, has kept me away from the blog for too long.

And the thing is, I am a proud, card carrying member of the Germaphobes of America society (well, there is no such thing, but I am thinking of starting a club for germ hating educators).  Working in an elementary school is probably the worst environment for those of us afflicted with the plight of germaphobia.  Oh, the irony.  There are kids coughing, sneezing, hacking, and wheezing all over the place.  And they touch everything.  And I am spending 12 hours a day touching the stuff that they touch (however, for the record, I have never drunk from a school drinking fountain, ever.)

70 students were out sick today.  That’s a lot of kids.


To protect myself from the germs that surround me, I habitually wash my hands constantly, and I am dousing my hands with Purell in between all the hand washing.  (I would bathe in that stuff if I could, but my skin might fall off.)

So when one of my teachers sent me this link to an article about germs in the New York Times, I thought it was proof that having the cleanest hands in the school would keep me from getting sick.  Yeah, right.

The author of this article tries to convince the weary, naive reader that the battle against germs is really a losing cause.  No!  I can’t give up that easily.  Yet, she is pretty convincing.  What’s a germaphobe to do?

One thought on “I’m Sick of the Germs

  1. Germaphobes unite!
    I found a wonderful product for our cell phones, pda’s, and other electronic devices…it’s called “Wireless Wipes”. This product cleans and disinfects our cell phones…and what germ freak doesn’t like that?
    I ordered mine online at:
    wirelesswipes.com

Leave a Reply

